Mathematics in Bonn

Bonn is proud of its long mathematical tradition that goes back to the 19th century and is characterized by a particularly broad research spectrum.

Historical mathematical notes

All important areas of mathematics are represented in Bonn: from the classical core areas over mathematical modeling and numerical simulation to the transfer of mathematics into technological applications. Moreover, in national and international rankings, Bonn occupies a leading rank in mathematical research and teaching.

In addition to the mathematical institutes of the University, the Max Planck Institute for Mathematics was established in Bonn some 30 years ago. It is one of only two mathematical Max Planck Institutes in Germany and it offers an extended international guest program. Its scientific members also contribute actively to the study programs, in particular at the graduate level.

Thus, the HCM was built as a very strong coalition of mathematical institutions in Bonn, which is unique in Germany. With the establishment of the HCM, Bonn mathematics has further expanded its international activities. Today, the Hausdorff Center is a renowned global player in mathematical research and teaching.

Mathematik in Bonn

Bonn ist stolz auf seine lange mathematische Tradition, die bis ins 19. Jahrhundert zurückreicht und sich durch ein besonders breites, wissenschaftliches Spektrum auszeichnet.

Historische mathematische Notizen

In Bonn sind von den klassischen Kernthemen über mathematische Modellierungen und numerische Simulation bis hin zu praktischen Anwendungen für technische Bereiche alle wichtigen Teilgebiete der Mathematik vertreten. In nationalen und internationalen Rankings zu Forschung und Lehre belegt die Bonner Mathematik regelmäßig die vorderen Plätze.

Zusätzlich zu den mathematischen Instituten der Universitäten wurde schon vor rund 30 Jahren das Max-Planck-Institut für Mathematik in Bonn gegründet. Es ist eins von nur zwei mathematischen MPIs in Deutschland und zeichnet sich durch ein umfangreiches internationales Gastprogramm aus. Seine Wissenschaftler tragen aktiv zur Exzellenz der Lehre in Bonn bei, insbesondere auf dem Graduiertenlevel.

Das HCM wurde als eine starke Koalition der mathematischen Institutionen in Bonn gegründet und ist in dieser Form in Deutschland absolut einzigartig. Mit der Etablierung des HCM hat die Bonner Mathematik ihre internationalen Aktivitäten weiter ausgebaut. Heute ist das Hausdorff Center eine weltweit hoch geschätzte Institution für exzellente Forschung und Lehre in der Mathematik.