Structural Goals

Besides its ambitious research goals, the HCM also pursues aspiring structural goals.

A professor explains young students mathematical concepts

The three main structural goals of the HCM are the efficient support of young academics, the broadening of the local basis in Bonn, and the establishment of an international hub for German mathematics. Together, these three tasks will contribute substantially to a sustainable improvement of mathematics in Bonn and Germany.

Building an international hub

The Hausdorff Research Institute for Mathematics (HIM) is a major institutional component of the HCM. It was founded specifically as an international hub for long-term international exchange with focused research and training. It is the only institute in Germany which organizes international long-term programs devoted to topics in mathematics, mathematical economics, and interdisciplinary mathematical approaches.

Every year, the HIM organizes two Trimester Programs and one Junior Trimester Program, each lasting four months. The programs bring together leading experts and young talents from all over the world. The promotion of young researchers is particularly emphasized by the Junior Trimester Programs, a unique concept worldwide.

Promoting young scientists

The Hausdorff Center provides a scientifically stimulating and structurally attractive environment for young scientists. The scientific stimulus comes from our local research areas as well as from the activities of the Hausdorff Research Institute for Mathematics. As for the structural attractiveness, the following measures have been implemented:  

  • Twelve Bonn Junior Fellow positions for excellent young scientists have been created. These W2 professor positions are limited to five years and allow the candidates to develop their own research agenda after a few postdoctoral years.
  • New postdocs are best trained by working on ambitious but well-defined research projects. Our fifteen Hausdorff Postdoc positions are advertised worldwide and are awarded to the best international candidates. Moreover, some of the positions are awarded to local research projects, where topic and candidate are proposed by the research areas. Some of these local research projects are deployed to explore interdisciplinary collaborations between the research areas and other research groups in Bonn.
  • Promising PhD students develop best into excellent scientists when supervised by active researchers in a stimulating environment. The guiding principle of our graduate teaching is to instill a solid and broad knowledge which leads to the frontier of mathematical research in the Research Areas. The Bonn International Graduate School of Mathematics (BIGS) offers thirty Hausdorff Scholarships to attract talented PhD students from all over the world.  

Broadening the local basis

The Excellence Initiative has provided the opportunity to enrich the faculty spectrum without the usual constraints in terms of timing and fields by establishing five new permanent full professorships, the Hausdorff Chairs. They are deployed to complement the faculty spectrum by outstanding individuals, they are used to attract senior scientists from abroad (back) to Germany, and to implement an entirely new and more active search and hiring process which is driven by the availability of promising candidates.

Strukturelle Ziele

Neben seinen ambitionierten Forschungsprojekten verfolgt das Hausdorff Center for Mathematics auch ehrgeizige strukturelle Ziele.

A professor explains young students mathematical concepts

Die drei wichtigsten strukturellen Vorhaben des HCM sind die Förderung junger Wissenschaftler, die Verbreiterung der lokalen Basis in Bonn und die Etablierung eines internationalen „Hafens“ für die deutsche Mathematik. Zusammen tragen diese drei Maßnahmen zu einer nachhaltigen Verbesserung der strukturellen Bedingungen für die Mathematik in Bonn und Deutschland insgesamt bei. 

Darüber hinaus engagieren wir uns auch mit Enthusiasmus für die Förderung der Mathematik im schulischen Bereich und in der Wissenschaftskommunikation.

Etablierung einer internationalen Drehscheibe

Das Hausdorff Research Institute for Mathematics (HIM) ist eine wichtige strukturelle Komponente des HCM. Es wurde als internationale Drehscheibe für den langfristigen Austausch und fokussierte Forschung und Lehre gegründet. Das HIM ist das einzige Institut in Deutschland, das langfristige internationale Programme für die Mathematik, mathematische Ökonomie und interdisziplinäre mathematische Fragestellungen organisiert.

Das HIM organisiert jedes Jahr zwei Trimester und ein Junior Trimester Programm. Diese Programme bringen für jeweils vier Monate führende Experten und junge Talente aus aller Welt zusammen. Die Förderung von Nachwuchswissenschaftlern wird insbesondere durch die  Junior Trimester Programme vorangetrieben – ein weltweit einzigartiges Konzept.

Nachwuchsförderung

Das Hausdorff Center ist ein wissenschaftlich und strukturell attraktives Umfeld für junge Wissenschaftler. Sowohl die lokalen Forschungsinstitute als auch das HIM stellen einen großen wissenschaftlichen Anreiz für junge Mathematiker aus aller Welt dar. Um unsere strukturelle Anziehungskraft zu erhöhen, wurden die folgenden Maßnahmen etabliert:  

  • Wir haben zwölf Bonn Junior Fellow Stellen für exzellente Nachwuchswissenschaftler geschaffen. Diese W2-Professuren sind auf fünf Jahre befristet und erlauben es Kandidaten mit einigen Jahren postdoktoraler Erfahrung eine eigene Forschungsagenda zu entwickeln. Die Bonn Junior Fellow erhalten jeweils eine Postdoktoranden- und eine Doktorandenstelle zur Unterstützung. Ihre Lehrverpflichtungen beschränken sich auf das Graduiertenniveau.
  • Neue Postdoktoranden können ihre wissenschaftliche Selbstständigkeit am besten in ambitionierten, aber klar umrissenen Forschungsprojekten entwickeln.  Unsere fünfzehn Hausdorff Postdoktorandenstellen werden weltweit ausgeschrieben und an die besten internationalen Bewerber vergeben. Darüber hinaus gibt es auch einige Stellen für örtliche Forschungsprojekte, die ihre Kandidaten und Projekte selbst vorschlagen. Einige dieser lokalen Forschungsprojekte sind speziell darauf ausgelegt interdisziplinäre Kooperationen zwischen unseren Forschungsbereichen und anderen Forschungsgruppen in Bonn zu etablieren.
  • Vielversprechende Doktoranden werden zu hervorragenden Wissenschaftlern, wenn sie in einem inspirierenden Umfeld von führenden Wissenschaftlern angeleitet werden. Die Leitlinie unserer Doktorandenausbildung ist es, ein solides und breites Wissen zu vermitteln, das die jungen Wissenschaftler zur vordersten Front der mathematischen Forschung in unseren jeweiligen Forschungsbereichen führt. Für besonders talentierte Bewerber aus aller Welt bietet die Bonn International Graduate School of Mathematics (BIGS) dreißig Hausdorff Stipendien an.

Verbreiterung der lokalen Basis

Mit der Exzellenzinitiative haben wir die Möglichkeit erhalten, das fachliche Spektrum unserer Fakultät ohne thematische und zeitliche Beschränkungen zu erweitern. Dazu haben wir fünf neue, volle Professuren geschaffen – die Hausdorff Chairs. Diese dauerhaften Lehrstühle ergänzen das Spektrum unserer Fakultät um herausragende, erfahrene Forscherpersönlichkeiten. Über die Einrichtung der Hausdorff Chairs konnten wir renommierte Mathematiker (zurück) nach Deutschland holen und einen aktiveren Berufungsprozess etablieren, der sich an der Verfügbarkeit der besten Köpfe orientiert.