HCM Workshop: Nonsmooth Optimization and its Applications

Date: May 15 - May 19, 2017
Venue: Lipschitz lecture hall, Mathematics Center, Endenicher Allee 60, 53115 Bonn
Seyedehsomayeh Hosseini, Boris Mordukhovich, André Uschmajew

Brief Description

As many problems in computer vision, robotics, signal processing and geometric mechanics are expressed as nonsmooth optimization problems, the huge impact of efficient methods to solve these problems is undeniable. Even solving difficult smooth problems sometimes leads to the use of nonsmooth optimization methods to make the problem either smaller in dimension or simpler in structure. It also may happen that a problem is analytically smooth, but numerically nonsmooth. Therefore, it is of eminent interest to develop useful computational and theoretical tools in these situations as well.

This workshop on nonsmooth optimization techniques and their
applications will bring together leading experts from different research groups from all over the world to present the latest theoretical and practical achievements in this growing field, fostering collaboration and discussing future developments. Topics include, but are not limited to nonsmooth and variational analysis, optimization methods and their convergence analysis, applications in image processing, machine learning, etc.

In case of questions regarding this workshop, please contact noa2017(at)hcm.uni-bonn.de.

List of Speakers

Pierre-Antoine Absil (UC Louvain)  
Lukas Adam (Czech Academy of Sciences)  
Miroslav Bacak (MPI MIS Leipzig)  
Adil Baghirov (Federation University of Australia)  
Radu Bot (Universität Wien)  
James Burke (University of Washington)  
Coralia Cartis (University of Oxford)  
Aris Daniilidis (Universidad de Chile)  
Dmitriy Drusvyatskiy (University of Washington)  
Helmut Gfrerer (Johannes Kepler University Linz)  
Rene Henrion (WIAS Berlin)  
Michael Hintermüller (WIAS Berlin)  
Napsu Karmitsa (University of Turku)  
Yuri Ledyaev (Western Michigan University)  
Russell Luke (University of Göttingen)  
Marko Mäkelä (University of Turku)  
Boris S. Mordukhovich (Wayne State University)  
Dominikus Noll (Université Paul Sabatier)  
Diethard Pallaschke (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology)  
Claudia Sagastizábal (IMPA)  
David Salas (CNRS, Université de Perpignan)  
Hermann Schichl (Universität Wien)  
Mikhail Solodov (IMPA)  
Sona Taheri (Federation University Australia)  
Michel Théra (Université de Limoges)  
Michael Ulbrich (TU München)  
Stefan Ulbrich (TU Darmstadt)  
Shawn Wang (University of British Columbia)