Individual reputations and joint research projects constitute the strength of Bonn mathematics.

The only German Fields Medalist is member of our cluster

Individual Reputations

The basis of the HCM is the strength of its faculty, which is reflected in a large number of prizes and honors awarded to senior and junior mathematicians from Bonn, among them

  • Gerd Faltings and Peter Scholze are the only German Fields Medalists
  • Reinhard Selten is the only German Nobel Prize winner in economics
  • Gerd Faltings, Wolfgang Lück, Stefan Müller, and Peter Scholze each received a Leibniz Prize and are four out of 14 non-retired awardees in Matheamtic
  • Wolfgang Lück, Stefan Müller, and Benny Moldovanu were awarded the Max Planck Research Award
  • Ursula Hamenstädt, Wolfgang Lück, Benny Moldovanu, and Karl-Theodor Sturm received ERC Advanced Investigator Grants
  • An ERC Starting Grant went to Heiko Röglin
  • Peter Scholze became the youngest full professor ever in Germany when he was appointed as a Hausdorff Chair in 2012

19 current investigators of the HCM are members of scientific academies, 13 of them in the Leopoldina.


Major collective successes

The members of the HCM combine their individual strengths regularly in research cooperation and structural projects to achieve new scientific innovations and sustainable improvements for the mathematical research landscape in Germany. Amongst others, these are:

  • our fifth Collaborative Research Center - the SFB 1060
  • the Collaborative Research Center - the SFB/TR 45
  • Theoretical economics in Bonn is characterized by a strong tradition of mathematical modeling and currently runs its fourth Collaborative Research Center (SFB/TR 224), its Collaborative Research Center (SFB/TR 15), and the fourth Research Training Group (GRK 2281). The Bonn Graduate School of Economics (BGSE) was established via the Excellence Initiative.
  • The long-lasting business success in modern chip design in Bonn is based on the technological transfer of mathematical innovations in optimization at the Research Institute for Discrete Mathematics.