Ana Caraiani und Maryna Viazovska receive EMS Prizes

Bonn, 15.05.2020. The 8th European Congress of Mathematics planned for this year has unfortunately been canceled due to the corona pandemic and has been postponed to June 2021. Nevertheless, the winners of the prestigious awards have already been announced. Particularly pleasing from our Bonn perspective: Two of the 10 winners of the EMS Prize have strong ties to the Hausdorff Center. The prizes are awarded to young researchers not older than 35 years at the time of nomination, of European nationality or working in Europe, in recognition of excellent contributions in mathematics.

Ana Caraiani was a Bonn Junior Fellow at the Hausdorff Center in 2016/17 and is still being strongly connected with our cluster: In 2018, she was appointed a Bonn Research Fellow. In 2007, the Association for Women in Mathematics granted Caraiani their Alice T. Schafer Prize for excellence in mathematics. Among more recent honours, she was one of the winners of the Whitehead Prize of the London Mathematical Society in 2018, and was elected as a Fellow of the American Mathematical Society in the Class of 2020, for "contributions to arithmetic geometry and number theory, in particular the p-adic Langlands program". Ana Caraiani is currently a Royal Society University Research Fellow and Reader at Imperial College London.

Maryna Viazovska was a PhD student at the Bonn International Graduate School of Mathematics (BIGS) and received her PhD in 2013 under the supervision of Don Zagier and Werner Müller. In 2016, Viazovska solved the sphere-packing problem in dimension 8 and, in collaboration with others, in dimension 24. Viazovska was an invited speaker at the 2018 International Congress of Mathematicians, and is the recipient of numerous awards. In 2016, she received the Salem Prize and, in 2017, the Clay Research Award and the SASTRA Ramanujan Prize for her work on sphere packing and modular forms. She has also been awarded a 2018 New Horizons Prize in Mathematics, and, in 2019, the Ruth Lyttle Satter Prize in Mathematics and the Fermat Prize. She is currently a professor at the École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne (EPFL).

The award ceremony will take place at the 8ECM in 2021, from 20 – 26 June in Portorož, Slovenia.